School News

Inter- DPS Hindustani Vocal Music Festival - Swaranjali 2016

July 23, 2016

The zonal level of Inter-DPS ‘Hindustani Vocal Music Competition- Swaranjali 2016’ was successfully hosted by DPS Sushant Lok under the aegis of DPS Society on July 23, 2016. As many as 21 schools from across Delhi NCR participated in the event. Mr. V.K Shunglu, Chairman DPS Society presided over the Inaugural ceremony as the Chief Guest with Ms. Vidya Shah- a notable composer, musician and writer as the Guest of Honour. Also present were, Dr. Zeenat Khader, Joint Secretary DPS Society and the National Convenor of Swaranjali along with principals of various DPS schools.
The festival comprised two categories of events: the Semi-classical Solo Song competition and the Indian Folk Group Song competition. Pandit Shubhendra Rao, renowned composer and Sitar maestro and Ms. Rashmi Malik, Director Spic Macay constituted the eminent panel of judges for the Solo Song competition while the Group Song competition was adjudged by the very distinguished Tabla expert Sh. Mithilesh Kumar Jha, and the multi-faceted composer, singer, actor and screenwriter Sh. Madan Gopal Singh.
The function began with the ceremonial lighting of the lamp followed by a welcome song and a dance ‘Tridevi Vandana’. Principal Ms. Sunita Nagpal, in her address, welcomed all the dignitaries and said that she was honoured to host such a prestigious event. She expressed her immense delight to be able to facilitate learning and appreciation of Indian music and dance within the portals of her school.
The function culminated with the Valedictory Ceremony which was presided over by Mr. Pramod Grover, Hony. Treasurer DPS Society, and the Guest of Honour, Ms. Malini Awasthi- renowned Indian folk singer, who also gave away the prizes.
The result of the Solo Song competition was as follows: Anisha Roy of DPS Dwarka bagged first position, Mayank Bagchi of DPS Greater Noida second position and Saif Ali Khan of DPS Vasant Kunj and Mayank Goswami of DPS Bulandshahr tied at third position. The winners of the Group Song competition were DPS Greater Noida, (First), DPS Maruti Kunj (Second) and DPS Bulandshahr (Third).
The judges congratulated DPS society for its initiative to promote classical music and were impressed by the high standard of the competition. The winning teams under the two categories would go onto compete at the national level of Swaranjali at DPS R. K Puram scheduled for November 11, 2016.